Shore junior is conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year for swimming

CHESTERTOWN — Washington College’s Zach Affeldt is the Centennial Conference Scholar-Athlete of the Year for men’s swimming; he’s the All-Centennial performer with junior or senior standing who has the highest cumulative grade point average.

Affeldt, a political science major, is a junior from Savage, Minnesota.

Affeldt and teammate Shane Brace of Hershey, Pennsylvania earned Academic All-Centennial honors by being named an all-conference performer and qualifying for the Academic Honor Roll in the same season.

Academic Honor Roll student-athletes have a cumulative grade point average of at least 3.40 on a 4.0 scale. Freshmen are not eligible.

Affeldt and Brace gained honorable mention in the 200-yard breaststroke and 200 butterfly, respectively.    

Gold medalists at the conference championships earn first-team All-Centennial honors and silver medalists earn second-team honors, — for both individual events and relays.

Individual bronze medalists are named All-Centennial honorable mention. 

Prior to this year, only gold and silver medalists earned All-Centennial recognition.

This is the second year in a row that Affeldt medaled in the 200 breast at the conference’s championship meet; in 2023 he took silver in a school record of 2 minutes, 2.22 seconds.

Printed here are Washington College’s Academic Honor Roll student-athletes for winter sports.

MEN’S SWIMMING: senior Jay Dadhania of Hainesport, N.J.; juniors Zach Affeldt, CJ Dunker of Eldersburg (Liberty High School) and Chase Hensen of Fredericksburg, Va.; and sophomore Shane Brace

Dadhania three-peats, while Affeldt, Dunker and Hensen qualify for a second time.

WOMEN’S SWIMMING: seniors Kenley Hewitt of Lutherville (Maryvale Prep), Kennedy Jones of Burke, Va. and Emma Schultz of Timonium (Dulaney); juniors Ayana Davis of Silver Spring (Springbrook), Courtney Poetsch of Randolph, N.J. and Kylee Smith of Avon, Colo.; and sophomore Lauren Paules of Blandon, Pa.

Hewitt, Jones and Schultz qualify for the third year in a row, while Davis, Poetsch and Smith are two-time qualifiers.

MEN’S BASKETBALL: seniors Sam Corrao of Telford, Pa. and Jason Zielinski of Brooklyn, N.Y.; juniors Paul Rodolf of Manchester, N.H., Ethan Schwantes of Winchester, Va., Zack Skrocki of Royersford, Pa. and Precieux Tshibangu of Kinshasa, Democratic Republic of the Congo (Springdale Preparatory School); and sophomores Ryan Lang of New Market (Linganore) and Jalen Wheeler of McKinney, Texas.

Zielinski qualifies for the third year in a row, while Corrao, Schwantes and Tshibangu repeat.

WOMEN’S BASKETBALL: juniors Karry Kelliher of Annapolis (St. Mary’s) and Avery Thomas of Malvern, Pa.; and sophomores Kaitlyn Boggs of Linwood, N.J., Abby Meredith of Wilmington, Del. and Emma Robinson of Washington, D.C. (Elizabeth Seton).

Kelliher and Thomas repeat.


Any related posts will be listed here:

Skip to content