Once upon a time

KENNEDYVILLE — “Discover Turner’s Creek” was the tag line for an event here on May 18 that brought together organizations including Kent County Parks and Recreation, Maryland Department of Natural Resources and Museums of Kent County with focus on the waterway and the history of the area.

It was a Saturday, so of course it was rainy and overcast — which most likely kept attendance low.

That’s too bad, because there was plenty to see and do.

Archeologist John Seidel talked about Capt. John Smith and the Native Americans of Kent County; there was a tour of the historic tree grove; and author Jack Shaum talked about the Sassafras Steamboat Line.

The historic Knock’s Folly house was open for tours and the DNR’s Parks Service was on-site with its Scales & Tales environmental education program featuring reptiles.

Kent Museum was a hub of activities that included the Maryland Department of Agriculture Showcase truck, a scavenger hunt, lawn games and exhibits by local 4-H’ers.

Inside the museum were lots of cool stuff  like historic agricultural machinery, antiques and “artifacts of rural life.”

Also on the museum grounds was Charley’s House, the restored/relocated circa 1840-1890 one story with loft duplex that is believed to be the last standing dwelling of a small Black community in Chestertown, as well as a corn crib and privy.

Any related posts will be listed here:

One Response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to content