Shore ladies strike early, net shutout for 1st win

CHESTERTOWN — The tougher opponent the Shore ladies faced Saturday night was Mother Nature, whose flashes of lightning in the area delayed the start of their non-conference soccer match with the Blazers of Hood by 95 minutes.

Once the action got underway at 8:35 p.m., host Washington (1-1-1) wasted little time — just 78 seconds — getting on the scoreboard and went on to dismiss its guest, 2-0.

The locals totaled 22 shots, including 13 on frame, while holding the visitors to two shots. They also led 8-1 in corner kicks.

Washington’s Olivia Allen made her only save in the 13th minute on a Caroline Roberts shot.

Hood’s only other shot of the night came in the 29th minute and soared above the cage.

On the first shot of the match, freshman Gina Phillips scored what held up to be the winning goal; it was a shot from about 15 yards out that nestled into the lower left corner of the net.

Junior Reagan Longridge was credited with the assist.

Hood switched goalies — junior Brenna Ellenberger (11 saves) for senior Gabi Dolan — in the 15th minute. This was Ellenberger’s first appearance of the season.
Washington, which was looking for its win after opening the season with a tie and a loss, got an insurance goal in the 71st minute when senior Grace Kelley headed in a pass from freshman Sophie Kilbridge.

Washington’s next home match is Wednesday night, Sept. 20 against Centennial Conference foe Bryn Mawr.

The Shore ladies open their conference slate Sept. 16 at Dickinson.

In the Centennial Conference preseason poll, Johns Hopkins is favored to repeat as conference champion.

The Blue Jays, who captured the first national title in CC and program history last year, received all 10 possible first-place votes and 100 points to earn the top spot in voting among Centennial Conference head coaches.

Dickinson (85 points) is the second choice and Swarthmore (80) is third.

In the preseason poll, McDaniel (74), Franklin & Marshall (71) and Gettysburg (52) also are picked to qualify for the six-team CC playoff tournament.

Rounding out the poll are Haverford (47) in seventh, followed by Washington (34), Ursinus (31), Muhlenberg (19) and Bryn Mawr (12).

Any related posts will be listed here:

Skip to content